During spring semester, the Lourdes University community gathered to honor high achievers at the annual awards ceremony. Please join AtLourdes magazine in congratulating this year’s winners.

IMG_4521 IMG_4525 IMG_4610 IMG_4651 IMG_4655 IMG_4656 IMG_4657 IMG_4659 IMG_4663 IMG_4664 IMG_4665 IMG_4667 IMG_4669 IMG_4670 IMG_4676 IMG_4679

College of Arts and Sciences
St. Luke Award in Fine Arts
Lora A. Gable
Sharon L. Parker

Outstanding Biology Student Award
Roseanne Papalcure

Chemistry and Physical Sciences Excellence Award for Science Majors
Alyssa A. Schaub

Chemistry and Physical Sciences Excellence Award for Non-Science Majors
Deanna Davis

Sister Virgilia Choy Excellence in History Award
Pamela S. Mitchell
Eleanore J. Sharkey

Martha Mewhort Historical Scholarship Excellence Award
James R. MacFarlane
Jacalyn M. Tomlinson

Barbara M. Britsch, Ph.D. Excellence in Literature Award
Megan A. Eisenhour

Sister Lucilla Osinski, OSF, Ph.D. Excellence in Writing Award
Taylor M. Burroughs

G. Stanley Hall Psychology Student of the Year Award
Carolyn R. Bunch

Dr. Sharon Heuschele Criminal Justice Award
Stephanie N. Hunt
Connor T. Richardson

The Lindsey Whitehead Sociology Award
Amanda C. Borton

Theological Studies Student Excellence Award
Nathan J. Rawlins

College of Business and Leadership
Academic Excellence in Business Award
Ramsey J. Pittman

Business Student Leadership and Service Award
Laura L. Coury 

Dana Martin Award
Brittney M. Jacobiak

College of Education and Human Services
Sister M. Agnes Micek, OSF
Early Childhood Education Excellence Award
Maranda H. Roach

Sister M. Rosaria Petra, OSF
Middle Childhood Education Excellence Award
Alison G. Sherman

Sister M. Remigia Kostick, OSF
Adolescence to Young Adult Education Excellence Award
Nicole R. Buchholz

Commitment to Social Justice Award
Timothy Barker

College of Nursing
Spirit of Nursing Award
Darby Birr

College of Nursing Leadership Award
Andrew W. New

College of Nursing Leadership Award – Fall 2013*
Daniel Koehler

Spirit of Nursing Award – Fall 2013*
Timothy Malsch
*Award was given at the Fall 2013 Nursing Convocation

Academic Affairs
St. Catherine Medal
Emily L. Ferguson

Graduate School
St. Bonaventure Academic Excellence Award
Timothy James Beehler

Excellence in Education Capstone Research
Mary Kathryn Currier

Spirit of Education Award
Sherry L. Schafer

Spirit of Nursing Award
Kimberly M. Steele

College of Nursing Leadership Award
Karen L. Brenner

MSN Spirit of Nursing – Fall 2013*
Sarah Eads

MSN Leadership Award – Fall 2013*
Jennifer Bettinger
* Award was given at the Fall 2013 Nursing Convocation

Service Learning
Canticle of Praise Student Service Learning Award
Jennica I. Austin

San Damiano Faculty Service Learning Award
Terry M. Keller
Kathleen E. Jenks
Lynne Zajac

Faculty and Staff
Faculty Excellence Award
Mary K. Robinson, Chairperson of the Department of History, Political Science & Geography
Todd A. Matteson, Chairperson of the Department of Art.

Staff Excellence Award
Michael George, Director of Development
Linda Stout, Arts & Sciences Administrative Assistant

Newman Award
Robin Sulier-Charney
Learn more about Robin and her work via the following videos:
View Video 1
View Video 2
View Video 3

Lourdes University bestows the Newman Award biannually on a man or woman recognized for educational, social, moral or cultural leadership. The award is named in honor of John Henry Newman, a nineteenth century English Cardinal deeply devoted to the advancement of religion and education.

The 2014 Newman Award was presented to Robin Sulier-Charney, a woman committed to demonstrating the interconnectedness of one city through the power of pictures. This mission has taken Robin to the poorest quarters of the inner city, revealing joy and sacredness in a challenging urban landscape.

She began her college education at the age of 41 at Lourdes receiving her bachelor’s degree in Sociology in 2005. She earned her master’s degree in Criminal Justice from The University of Toledo.

Robin has received recognition for her many community projects in which she has worked to shed light on hunger and homelessness by using photography to reaffirm the dignity of every person. In 2009 she established Toledo Help Portrait, a yearly program aimed to bring homeless people together for family photographs. In 2012 she was a speaker at the inaugural TEDx Toledo.

As Oncology Outreach Coordinator for the ProMedica Cancer Institute, Robin has had the opportunity to connect the most vulnerable in the community to cancer education and screenings. She had a special role in Witness to Hunger, which documented the lives of ten families living with food insecurity.

In 2013, ProMedica honored Robin by nominating her for the prestigious Albert E. Dyckes Ohio Health Care Worker of the Year Award.

Most recently her JULEEON mural in Toledo gained international recognition on CNN as part of the Mural Stories challenge. The 22 foot mural features the laughing face of a young Toledo boy who lives in poverty. The mural has been credited with bringing a message of hope and change.

Student Life and Mission & Ministry
Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges Award        
Marc D. Abalos
Laura L. Coury
Jacob C. DuPree
Megan A. Eisenhour
Joseph Esposito
Emily L. Ferguson
Heidi A. Keller
Anoshe S. Kokikheil
Trevor C. Lund
Sara M. Ondrus
Elijah D. Walters

Student Government Association Award
Perry M. Bender
Joseph  Esposito
Colman W. Fitzgerald
Kaylyn L. Weisenburger

Student Organization Recognition Awards
Active Minds Organization Award
Sarah E. Berendt

Drama Society
Timothy S. Robinson

Gaming Society: Reborn Award
Allison B. Rausch

Lourdes Arab American Association
Ali H. Elmokdad

Orbis Ars
Amy Hackett

Pre-Art Therapy Association
Allison L. Walter

Social Science Club
Luke E. Grable

Student Nurses Association
Andrew W. New

Student Organization Advisor of the Year
Active Minds advisors Angela Gorny and Michelle A. Rable

Student Organization of the Year
Active Minds

Resident Assistant of the Year Award
Meredith L. Shalda

Campus Ministry Awards
Campus Ministry Mission Outreach Award
Hanna S. McLaughlin
Meredith L. Shalda

Campus Ministry L.I.N.K. Award
Emily L. Ferguson
Hanna S. McLaughlin
Sergey Ostrovskiy
Courtney L. Selvey

Student Volunteer of the Year
Hanna S. McLaughlin
Sergey Ostrovskiy

TRiO Award
TRiO Student of the Year
Eleanore J. Sharkey

Athletic Awards
Student Female Athlete of the Year
Megan Mosiniak

Student Male Athletes of the Year
Bradley Miller
Zach K. Steinmetz

Champions of Character Team Award
The Softball Team 2013-2014

D.A.A.C. Award for Outstanding Commitment to Diversity
Tarell K. Cox

Sister Ann Francis Klimkowski Student Leader of the Year Award
Sarah Berendt