Theta Alpha Kappa

Theta Alpha Kappa: Alpha Alpha Theta Chapter

Established in 1976, Theta Alpha Kappa is the national honor society for theology and religious studies. It is dedicated to recognizing and encouraging academic excellence in undergraduate and graduate students and in scholars in those fields. The Greek letters appropriately stand for theos (God), anthropos (human person) and koinonia (communion). The local chapter at Lourdes University, Alpha Alpha Theta, was established in 1984.

Students who have achieved the following are invited to join:

  • 12 credits in theology courses
  • 3.5 GPA in theology courses
  • 3.0 GPA in all courses
  • Rank in the top 35% of their class

Theta Alpha Kappa offers an annual peer-reviewed journal, essay competitions, honorary awards for the highest achieving student members and graduate school scholarships.


Benjamin Brown